Help Center

Relations between groups, folders and clients


Management Server operates 3 major entities:

  • Clients. Clients are endpoint computers with headless Sync IT clients installed, and are configured to connect to the Management Server. New clients appear in the Management Server list upon their first successful connection.
  • Folders. Each folder entry represents a folder that will be synchronized between certain peers. Which peers are going to participate in syncing of a folder is determined by Groups.
  • Groups. Groups determine which users are going to get which folders and the level of access (read-only or read-write). Also, each group contains a profile and a schedule, both applied to all folders of all users in a group.

A client can belong to multiple groups - provided that all their groups do not share the same folders and do not conflict in profiles and schedules. If there is any conflict, Management Server will show a warning dialog and prevent adding client to the second group.

Each folder can belong to any number of groups. Therefore, it gives a great flexibility in managing folders. For example, some group may have only read-only access with a limited bandwidth to the folder “A” which is only synchronized during nightly hours while other groups may have full read-write access to the same folder with no limitations.

A folder cannot be assigned to a client directly, avoiding the group entity. If you have a single client you want to assign some folders to, you’ll have to create a group with a single client, and assign the necessary folders to them.

Example

In this example we have 3 groups:

  • Management Group have all the folders in organization, all are synced to Big Boss and Auditor’s computers, although only Boring Reports has read and write permissions. Also, as management is travelling a lot and have a narrow bandwidth, their group has limitation to sync data only at night (Nightly schedule) and with bandwidth limitation (roaming profile).
  • Engineering group does not care about reports folder and only have CAD Updates and Secret Blueprints folders. While they only use CAD Updates to get their tools updated they get only RO permissions and they get RW for Secret Blueprints as they definitely write some data there.
  • Server group contains only one client - server itself. It is only going to keep Secret Blueprints and Boring Reports as a backup and for availability, therefore they are read-only. The server is very likely the instance to distribute fresh updates, therefore it gets read-write for CAD Updates folder.