Help Center

Profiles


 

A Profile is a set of preferences applied to all clients in the group with that profile applied to it. You can manage your profiles using the “Add, Remove, Edit, Duplicate” buttons. Here is a table of all profile settings and their definitions.

 

Name

Value

Purpose

Enable WAN Optimization

no

Enable optimized UTP2 protocol to speed up synchronization over WAN

Limit LAN bandwidth

no

Applies the limit configured in current schedule to local traffic as well

Use relay

yes

Enables/disables the use of the relay server by clients when a direct connection is not possible

Use tracker

yes

Enables/disables peer discovery using the tracker server

LAN broadcast

yes

Enables/disables peer discovery in LAN using broadcast / multicast traffic. You can disable this option if multicast traffic is not allowed in your network

Delete to trash

yes

Enables/disables storing deleted files in the folder archive

Known hosts

not set

Hosts should be entered as a single line of IP:port pairs (or DNSname:port pairs*) comma-separated (no other delimiters allowed)

Encrypt on LAN

yes

Enables encryption for all Sync IT data flowing in LAN

Disk operations are low priority

no

Sets all disk read-write operations to low priority

Max archive file size (MB)

1000

Defines the maximum archive size

Rescan interval (Sec)

600

This option sets the folder rescan interval for changes possibly missed with OS file notifications

Max time difference (sec)

600

Maximum time difference allowed between peers. If the actual time difference exceeds this value, Sync IT won't transfer data and will display an error

Sending buffer size (MB)

128

Amount of memory allocated for outgoing data buffer

Receiving buffer size (MB)

128

Amount of memory allocated for incoming data buffer

Max torrent metadata size (MB)

16

Amount of memory allocated for metadata.

Max log size (MB)

100

Maximum log size allowed before Sync IT rotates the log

Log time to live (days)

7

Number of days the debug logs will be stored

Enable debug profiler

no

Starts recording data for speed issue analysis. Data is stored in profiler.dat in storage folder, rotated every 10 minutes. Requires client restart to activate.

Send statistics

no

Ignore this setting. It is not applied to Sync IT clients.

Max archive file age (days)

30

Amount of time a file will be stored in the archive. Setting this option to "0" forces Sync to keep archived files forever.

Rescan tracker and relay interval (sec)

3600

Controls how often Sync checks for the info about available trackers and relay servers. Can be adjusted to prevent HDD from low-power mode

External port

0

External (i.e. relative to NAT) port value. "0" indicates automatic port detection

Save settings interval (sec)

600

Controls how often settings are saved to storage. Can be adjusted to prevent HDD from low-power mode

Bind interface

not set

Specifies network interface which will be used by Sync. Can take text name of an interface for Linux and OS X clients (for example: eth0, bind0) or MAC address for Windows OS (for example 08:00:27:17:a0:ba).

Enable file system notifications

yes

Enables/disables file system notifications

Enable journaling

yes

Enables/disables journaling of file changes/file moving (must be 'no' for NAS to be able to sleep)

Peer expiration time (days)

7

Defines how long Sync clients keep other peers IPs in cache

Allow LAN connections

yes

Enables/disables connections with local peers

Custom trackers

not set

Trackers should be entered as a single line of IP:port pairs (or DNSname:port pairs*) comma-separated (no other delimiters allowed)

Keep folder data

Remove from client

Controls whether to remove or delete the data from the client once admin removes the folder from the client’s group or deletes the folder on Management Server

 

NOTE: If you set the “Keep folder data” to “Delete data”, Sync will actually delete files from clients with this profile when you remove the folder from their group or remove the folder from the Managment Server. This action is not reversible and files won’t be available in Archive.